RSS Feed

I have sweet pee–and other things

Posted on

Holy cow, it’s been a while. This whole “60 hour work week plus pregnancy preparation” has not been good on the ole blogging. I am going to try and be better, as I miss blogging, and want to keep everyone up to speed on things.

This weekend I hit 24 weeks. 24 whole weeks of Bagel growing and developing inside of me! I am feeling more and more connected to her—she is a mover and a shaker! Although she has a tricky little habit of stopping her violent kicking at the exact moment I put her Dad’s hand on my belly. I still look at her creepy “silly puddy-esque” 3D ultrasound face daily and sigh. This is my daughter. Oh, what an insane magical thing it is to look at her human face inside of my body! And speaking of my body… it has exploded. I’m in awe  of my ass, my thighs, my stomach. I’m up about 17 pounds, and have no doubt I will gain at least 10 more pounds. Everything is gargantuan, and will only get bigger.  My stepdad came over on Saturday and helped me build the crib! It looks so great, and I also built our changing table (Hubs is good at building things too, but I actually love to assemble these things and was on a mission to finish both pieces this weekend). It was meditative until I was hit with back pain on Saturday night the likes of a cattle prod being inserted into the side of my hip. More on that in a moment.

There have been a few cricks in the plans the last couple of weeks, as can only be assumed in any pregnancy. Last week, it was my sweet pee episode at the ObGyn’s. I went for a monthly check up and sure enough, there was sugar in my urine sample this time around. Not a great sign for the whole “passing my Glucose Tolerance Test” thing I was hoping to do in a few weeks.  I have always known I may be prone to Gestational Diabetes due to the PCOS/insulin resistance issues I’ve had, but I didn’t expect good ole sugar pee to confront me just yet. It was on the low end of the spectrum as far as sugar pee goes, but it was enough for my OB to want to do my glucose tolerance test early (I went in for it this morning). I’m fully expecting to fail the one hour, and have to go in for the three hour. If I fail the three hour…well, fuck me. I’m going to be bummed. I haven’t exactly been the model of carb-less sugar-less health this pregnancy.

Second crick in my plan was the excruciating sciatic pain that crept up on me over the weekend after I had finished assembling all of the furniture. Admittedly, I went to the gym, built lots of furniture, and generally over did it on Saturday, but nothing that would warrant that severe pain. I could barely walk at points of the day on Sunday, and I embarrassingly broke down in tears about it at a dinner with my parents and grandma on Sunday night as I tried to stand up from the table and was rocked by a jolt of the WORST FUCKING PAIN EVER. I blame some of my tears on the pregnancy hormones, but it was so frustrating to not be able to MOVE!! I felt weak and drained from the pain after only one day, I couldn’t imagine how I would function if it got worse.

I spent yesterday morning at 4AM on all fours in my living room doing pelvic rocks, hoping that it was just the baby pressing on my sciatic nerve and I could somehow get her to move. No luck. I limped into work feeling like a stuffed pregnant disabled cow. The jolts were getting worse, not better, and any subtle movements I made were met with pain unless I was sitting.

That is, until The Poo to End All Poos.

Ladies and one gentleman who read this blog, I had a eureka moment. It all started when I felt the urge to poo.

A wave of constipated realization hit me: It had been 4 days since my last poo! Could it be? No….could it? Could sciatica and extreme constipation be linked???

I am normally poo shy at work, but yesterday the pain outweighed any shred of care I had about stinking up a public restroom.  I was on a serious mission. I hobbled/limped to the bathroom, and proceeded to have the best shit of my life. I stood up to wipe and realized…the sciatic pain was basically GONE. There was still a small twinge here and there but I freaking POWER WALKED out of that bathroom. No more shooting pain!!!! I’m still a bit nervous to do too much rejoicing lest is creep back up, but that was a miracle shit if I ever had one. The pain is about 80% better today,so fingers crossed I will have a weekend where I’m not wincing and cursing every time I move.

So that, my friends, is the skinny for today. I took my one hour glucose test this morning… Let’s keep fingers crossed that I pass this bad boy!

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

10 responses »

  1. a) glad to read your post, you’ve been missed! Hope things slow down for you.
    b) why is it that whenever the spouse puts their hand on the belly it causes the baby to be completely still……..
    c) Oh the weight gain. It just escalates. I am praying it stops. oh lord please make it stop. It was so easy up until week 20 when it all fell apart. But, eh, whatever right????
    d) Having to poo while being pregnant is the most uncomfortable thing EVERRRRRR. Sorry you went through that (with the constipation issue too)

    Reply
    • A) I have missed you too! Heading over to your blog to catch up
      B) I know right? Its weird.
      C) week 20 was it for me too. I have gained 10 pounds in a month.
      D) I honestly never thought that I would think this much about poo.

      Reply
  2. So glad you are back!!! There’s nothing like taking a dump, right? I feel you. I surely hope you passed the three hour test!

    Reply
  3. Thank God you pooed! As for that sweet pee, well I hope it isn’t as sweet as everyone things. I’m constantly amazed at the poop and pee in my life right now. I have almost zero control over it. And the gas of which I have absolutely no control.

    Reply
  4. Hahaha… man, so imagine if you were carrying twins! Sounds like you birthed a poo-baby over there, or as my hubby would say, “dropped a fat kid off at the pool.” Gross, but that sense of relief is like the most amazing thing ever. I once had a poop so big I felt the need to name it (Penelope), but since then I’ve been pretty free and clear.

    Wow, that was TMI. Anyway, good to know you’re busy but happy!

    Reply
  5. I adore you and your poos.

    Reply
  6. Are you sure it wasn’t “Poonelopee”? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

