RSS Feed

84

Posted on

What has two thumbs and passed her glucose tolerance test with a super awesome 84 yesterday?

beber

This girl!!

Oh, and me, of course.

I’m pretty excited and blown away by the rocking glucose number to be honest (normal range is 60-140). How did this happen when I failed the one hour glucose test a couple of years ago with a 143?  Not to mention, I had sugar pee a week ago. My plan of attack on passing this time around was to eat a hard boiled egg about 2 hours before I chugged the orange drink to give my body a chance to warm up to food, making sure to keep whatever I ate high protein. I then chugged the orange drink at 8:30, went on a 15 minute walk, and had my blood drawn at 9:30. I didn’t monitor my carb intake that much in the days leading up to the test but I did stick mainly to eating fruits and salads the day before.

This alleviates one worry from my mind, that’s for sure.

In preparation for what I am hoping to be a natural, drug-free childbirth, I  just finished reading Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth. Can I give my honest review here?

“Meh.”

I know she is the golden un-episiotomied guru of natural birth, and gosh darnit do I respect the woman for delivering thousands of babies naturally, but I didn’t find the book to be all that connected to what I’m feeling my birth experience will be like. According to  all of the recommendations for the book, I may be the only one. About half of the book are birth stories from women who birthed in the 70s and 80s (some more recently, but not many). I know it shouldn’t matter what decade a woman births in for me to be able to connect with the story, but it distanced me a bit. I am also not against “natural communities” or any sort of place where a “natural lifestyle” is encouraged and practiced, but try as I might, I couldn’t get into the whole idea of The Farm (a “village/co-op”-type place in Tennessee where Ina May practices). The whole thing sort of skeeved me out for some reason and felt like some unreal birth utopia. She did have some good insights as to how important it is to be relaxed and stress free for birth to progress, but overall, I was left wanting more.

And then I came upon another title: Natural Hospital Birth: The Best of Both Worlds.

Two VERY enthusiastic Justin Beber thumbs up for this one!

The author is savvy, smart, and really speaks to the modern woman who, for whatever reason, is aiming for a natural birth but is going for it in a hospital. She goes through all of the ins and outs of patient rights, what you should request, and how to prepare mentally and physically for a hospital setting birth. It’s awesome! Highly recommend it.

I’m finding myself getting cautiously excited at the possibility of birthing naturally, and assuming my placenta moves up a centimeter or so, it will hopefully be possible. I want to go into the experience with confidence, armed with Hubs and my doula, and lots of knowledge about my patient rights. It makes me giddy to think about!

My back is feeling 90% better this morning, so it’s time for a 3 mile weekend stroll with Hubs to our Coffee Bean and back. Happy weekending, folks!

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

13 responses »

  1. Congrats on passing with flying colors! Bring on the treats!

    Reply
  2. Yes! I just started reading Natural Hospital Birth too, and it’s so much more practical and realistic for how I’m planning to give birth. I’ve read probably half a dozen natural/mindful/etc. birth books so far, and have a bunch more to read, but this one seems best so far.

    Reply
  3. Congrats on the pain-relieving poo and the sugar-free pee!!! How huge! (No pun intended. Really.) Also, thanks sooooo much for the book reco. I had not heard of this one and I love the title because, for poverty reasons, I have to give birth in a hospital (who the hell can afford at-home midwife care that the great state of California does not cover on insurance!?), but I still desperately hope for a natural birth for a variety of reasons. I will be reading this book. Also, we are in the same placental boat! Mine needs to move up more than 2 centimeters to have even a prayer of natural childbirth 😦 Here’s hoping we both get it!!

    Reply
    • From what I understand, almost all placentas will move up on their own if they’re not covering the cervix, so here’s hoping for both of us! Also, from what I’ve heard, birthing at a hospital will run about $1500-$2000 out of pocket 😦 I have heard some midwives only cost a bit more than that, so may be worth looking into! Insurance sucks, any way you look at it.

      Reply
  4. I’m happy for you Sunny! You are moving right along and cooking that bagel right. I wish you all the luck in birthing naturally and with a doula, I am sure you will make it work for you. I made it to 7 cm before I got my epi and I don’t feel bad about it. Whatever happens, you will have a baby to hold in the end.

    Reply
  5. I just have to recommend this book as well:

    http://www.amazon.com/Juju-Sundins-Birth-Skills-Pain-Management/dp/0091922143

    I absolutely loved it as it proposes real, practical tools to use during labor. I even created a summary/cheat sheet for my husband to read (since I knew he wouldn’t read the whole book) so that he could keep me on track. I used so many of the tools throughout my labor (24 hours of laboring at home before going to the hospital [unfortunately only at 4cm]) and felt much more control during that period of time (things went a different direction once I got to the hospital). I cannot recommend it highly enough.

    Reply
    • More books! More books!! I will absolutely be buying this and loading up into the Kindle. Thanks! Also, 24 hours of labor at home instantly makes you my hero. I had an interesting conversation with my doula this weekend which I will post about where she basically said that any over 24 hours and under 5 or 6cm is grounds for a mercy epidural.

      Reply
  6. I just snorted after reading your question and answer.

    My feeling after reading Ina May’s guide was “If a bunch of crazy hippies can do this, so can I.” (Don’t get me wrong, I love me some crazy hippies but some of those stories were cringeworthy crunchy.)

    I think it would be easier to hold off on the epi if you were progressing. You’ve read my birth story and you know I was all for med-free and still practically begged for one. Now when people ask I always disclaim, “I didn’t have an epidural, but not because I didn’t want one.”

    Reply
    • Your birth story is the one that comes to mind most when I think about IRL people who did it au natural–with back labor, no less. Heroic.

      Reply
  7. Is there any chance you still have the cheat sheet that you can email me?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

