RSS Feed

Where did the weekend go

Posted on

It’s official: 2 day weekends are not enough. I’m headed into today feeling like I could use more of everything (sleep, time to clean, organize, prep the baby’s room…) Every weekend I get about 80% of what I need to get done, done, and then it all unravels during the week and I have to repeat the cycle. This weekend, along with going into a cleaning frenzy yesterday and shopping for a baby shower dress with my mom (the dresses all looked like mumu’s on me, in case you’re wondering…) we had a yard sale (sold $440 of useless crap! Score!), and bought a car (2103 Ford Fusion Hybrid–47MPG–sweet!). The Fusion is not the most baby-friendly model in terms of space, but both Hubs and I are very very pro-hybrid technology, and want to support it. The Fusion, while not exactly “cheap”, was within our budget, and looks awesome. So I don’t have the trunk space of an SUV…it’s enough to get my bulky jogger in there if need be, and we’ll make due.

The dress I settled on looks sort of like this, only in blue, with shorter sleeves (I couldn’t find the exact model online):

dmc

And anyone who actually looks like this model while 7 months pregnant can bite me.

I have been putting on weight in the arm area, so sleeveless tops accentuate my new slabs of meat which is AWESOME when you’re having a summer baby, and the only dresses available are these flowing sleeveless ones. Although my butt is, oh, about 12 times bigger than the model’s, I’m pretty much a big ball of belly this pregnancy, so tighter more form-fitting dresses actually lookย  more flattering around my bump than the tent dresses which hang awkwardly around my midsection and then plummet off my belly.

Our car looks like this:

8716_cc0480_032_FQ

It is prettier than my dress.

After a full day of yard sale and car negotiations on Saturday, I looked like this:

cat

And on Sunday, I woke up, and I was 28 weeks pregnant. Crazy. I haven’t been bullet pointing symptoms at all during this pregnancy, but since I’ve officially hit the third trimester maybe I’ll throw in a bullet point or two:

  • Belly: Is getting large, but still no stretch marks. Don’t worry–I’m totally expecting that they may show up towards the end, or after I deflate. That being said, I don’t care if the collective interwebs say that body butter doesn’t work and that stretch marks are inherited: I am slathering that shit on twice a day like butter on a Thanksgiving turkey. I use Mama Mio oil and body butter (in that order). Both smell great, and although they aren’t cheap, one bottle and one tub of the stuff has lasted me through two trimesters.
  • Swelling: None so far. I’m eagerly awaiting the cankles I know I’ll get in about 4 weeks. Wedding rings are still on, and face hasn’t puffed out too badly.
  • Boobs: No lactating/leaking as of yet, but I’m up from a 34C to a 38D. Eek. I have PCOS, so it has been in the back of my mind that my hormonal imbalances may lead to difficulties breastfeeding down the line. Any advice from other PCOS-ers would be helpful…
  • Weight gain: 21 pounds as of Friday’s doctor visit. I’m tracking pretty well and trying not to sweat the fact that my love handles and ass cheeks are bulging around my underware. I’ve been too proud to buy new undies, but may have to in a couple of weeks.
  • Energy: The last two weeks I have felt it wane. I absolutely need a nap on weekends, and I hav been sneaking to my car sometimes at lunch during the work week to take a 20 minute nap.
  • Baby moves: all the time. I have become aware of her patterns: She likes to pummel me at pretty predictable 3 hour intervals. 4:30AM-6:30 is big for her. She’s sleeping now (at 8AM). Her other big moments are around 2-4PM and 8-10PM. I find myself musing whether or not she will keep that pattern when she’s born.
  • Sexin with Hubs: Has been fairly non existent. My lack of libido has not improved over the last couple of weeks. I don’t want to beat myself up over it, but it’s been frustrating. My body just doesn’t feel like itself.
  • Cravings: chopped liver (there’s mixed reviews on whether liver is safe. From what I can tell, you shouldn’t eat too much due to the excess Vitamin A, but it has nothing to do with it being uncooked or anything), peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, and a juice drink I get from Whole Foods which I NEVER would have thought I’d love: spinach, cucumber, ginger, kale, celery, lemon, lime, and apples. I also ate deli meat a couple of days ago without realizing. I freaked out a bit, but Bagel seems fine.

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

15 responses »

  1. I saw a woman who looked like that model who was 35 weeks pregnant (I overheard her casually talking about it to someone), I may have actually started crying (I’m 35 weeks pregnant and look like a beach ball with arms & legs…big ones at that. Also, I’m hormonal, people can deal with it).

    “And anyone who actually looks like this model while 7 months pregnant can bite me.” If I could, I would drink to that!

    Reply
    • 35 WEEKS??? Who the hell are these women, and what are they eating? Seriously! It’s got to be unhealthy. I am fully supportive of you and your hormones. And beach balls are extremely fun and colorful ๐Ÿ™‚ Very excited for you! You’re coming close!!

      Reply
  2. Holy mackerel, friend. That’s A LOT of stuff you squeezed into that weekend. I’m a little in awe of your 28 week pregnant self!

    Reply
  3. What a fun post! I am also going to embark on getting a baby shower dress so i feel your pain about the challenge of finding a cute one. For me, everything is too short! And i hear you about the lack of time in the wknds – doesnt help that this bowling ball in front of us makes me just want to lie down on the couch. Yay for 28 weeks and lol about craving LIVER?! that is the best craving i have heard of.

    Reply
    • Evidently, my craving for liver is quite odd! I never even realized it! I just had to have me some a couple of weeks ago, and as soon as I ate half the container, I have not wanted any more.

      Reply
  4. I am not lying when I tell you that is what my sister in law looks like at 28w pregnant. She is still wearing jeans and it is her second bub! Thankfully I think my daughter may have inherited her metabolism!! Let’s just say when I was 28w pregnant I didn’t look like that at all. Unless of course the bump was my arse. Then maybe.

    Reply
    • Please bitch slap her for me ๐Ÿ™‚ Gently, of course, but seriously. I’ve seen a couple of those “pregnant unicorns” out there, and I have no idea how they do it!

      Reply
  5. EWWW CHOPPED LIVER?! I thought you were kidding there for a sec… anyway, in moderation I’m sure it’s fine. Plus it’s loaded with iron, which has to be a good thing. Also, YAY for buying an eco-conscious car! We have a Prius and love love love it. I have a thing for small cars and kinda wanted the new Fiat, but ultimately, I do want to make a statement about the importance of hybrid technology and such, so that won out.

    Oh, and the pregnant models in catalogues are RIDICULOUS! The funniest is the girl I just posted a pic of in my recent post about bras — she’s modelling a nursing bra, as in, “just had a baby” bra, and her stomach is totally flat. As if.

    Reply
    • I kid you not. I freaking LOVE chopped liver ๐Ÿ™‚ The Fiats are soooo adorable!! I want one too as my “fun” car (haha…maybe in 10 years.)

      That pic on your post was for a NURSING BRA!!??? gIVE ME A FREAKING BREAK!!

      Reply
  6. I love your baby shower dress. And don’t worry, no one would look like that at 7 months pregnant. I’m only 3 months pregnant and I’m pretty sure I’m carrying the baby in my arms. I, too, am impressed with how much you got done in a weekend! You’re making me feel like a bum. Ha.

    Thanks for the updates on the pregnancy…keep them coming!

    Reply
  7. My husband had been talking about getting a minivan. My biggest argument against it is that there are no hybrid minivans. Sure it may be easy to get babies in and out of but I will be spending $100 every 3 days filling it up with gas. I love my prius and am not giving it up for a gas guzzler.
    Did you eat chopped liver pre-pregnancy? That is the most unusual craving I have heard.

    Reply
    • I am one of those rare birds who loves chopped liver, but hardly ever eats it. The craving got so bad during pregnancy that I drove to a deli late one night to look for it! And amen to Priuses!! I agree–the $$ spent on mini van gas would be ridiculous.

      Reply
  8. Congrats on your new car! We have a Prius and a Ford Escape Hybrid and LOVE them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

