RSS Feed

The heat is on

Posted on

37 weeks. Am I really at this point of the pregnancy already?

Not much to report this morning. Aside from it being 110 degrees here yesterday, I survived the scorching hot LA weekend by wandering aimlessly between movie theaters and malls. This was the first weekend I really “felt” pregnant. It honestly didn’t have much to do with the heat–It has more to do with Bagel’s weight, I think. She legitimately feels pretty heavy now, and I am feeling it mostly when I walk/waddle. I’ve been getting a lot of comments like, “you’re so pregnant, you must be DYING in this heat!” Honestly, I don’t notice a shift at all in my body temp. 110 degrees is 110 degrees in my book. It’s fucking hot. We’re ALL fucking hot. I would be drenched and miserable if I wasn’t pregnant. Hubs and I tried to do our morning walk to Starbucks on Saturday, and it ended up being 90 degrees by 10AM when we set out. On the way back, I got some really painful uterine cramps on my right side (it felt like there was a bruise on one spot of my uterus, if that makes sense?) I made it home, and the pain went away when I lay down, but I think our walks are out for the time being. I started Googling obsessively from bed, and from what I gather, it was either some form of Braxton Hicks or round ligament pain. Bagel has been moving around a lot, so I’m not worried it’s a placenta issue, but it was still nerve wracking walking home, huffing and puffing, and stopping to hold my side due to the pain.

I have been having maybe 1-2 Braxton Hicks a day for the last few days. The biggest one came when I was making dinner last night–a tightness around the top of my stomach, all the way to my back that didn’t let up for a couple of minutes. It’s the strangest feeling. Not painful, just this uncontrollable contortion of my stomach muscles that I can’t do anything to make go away. Aside from those and the finger swelling, the symptom that has been giving me the most trouble recently is something that (I think?) may be acid reflux? Although…it doesn’t burn? Basically, if I eat a meal and then try to go to bed shortly afterward, the food feels like it’s coming back up my throat. It’s horrible, and it only happens when I lie down. Twice last night I fell asleep, only to wake up gasping/choking for air because I somehow burped in my sleep and inhaled my gross burp reflux. Tums do nothing for this because it’s not neutralizing acidity. I think it’s simply coming down to the fact that my stomach is very squished right now.

Hubs and I had sex for the first time in weeks yesterday. It was…ok? The  positions I’m being forced into are just not conducive for me “crossing the finish line”, if you know what I mean… I am glad we did have sex, as I always feel closer to him when we do, and I think it’s healthy for our relationship, but I can’t wait for the days when we can go back to just boinking with abandon. I miss the light heady feeling of a couple of glasses of wine, and great sex.

I still feel like I have at least a couple more weeks until I meet Bagel,  but it’s strange to have this huge event looming and not know the exact date. It’s like telling someone, “Hey! You’re going to meet your husband and get married in 6 months, but you won’t know who it is, or when it will happen”. I guess I feel that I know a little bit about Bagel already based on the way she moves in me. She likes pushing and stretching her legs across my entire stomach and sometimes will thrash around for a few minutes as if she’s trying really hard to get comfortable, then go silent and nap for an hour. Almost like she has just poured her heart out into something she was passionate about, and is “spent”. She is a strong baby, but rarely hurts me with kicks or jabs. Her pushing against my abdomen can be intense, but once she gets out a stretch, she is calm.  She gets annoyed when I change positions too much in bed, and loud crowds or movies make her kick up a storm. Not sure if that’s because she’s scared, or if she enjoys the noise. She also is soothed by the sound of running water. She could be kicking up a storm, and as soon as I turn on the water for a bath, she quiets down. My girl will love the tub.

Rub a dub dub.

Happy Monday.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

3 responses »

  1. Its fucking hot, my friend. Fucking hot. I had the weird side pain thing, too. Mine felt a bit like a back spasm I once had. It was awful! Stay cool!

    Reply
  2. Those days of boinking without abandon are far far away my dear! Ok, maybe not for everyone, but I’m a year postpartum and am STILL waiting for those days of boinking without abandon again…sex is always planned at this point otherwise it never happens! Sigh…I miss sex…like fun sex…like good fun spontaneous sex!

    Reply
  3. i hear you about waiting for this big moment…but you have no idea when or how it’s going to happen. It’s very odd – usually we have more control over those moments (like our wedding date!). Happy 37 weeks – stay cool. It’s cooled down a lot the last day or so in SoCal for me…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

