RSS Feed

So this is heartburn

Posted on

Oh, heartburn, you little minx you. I thought I had successfully avoided it, but nope. I’m up at 1:30AM feeling like I’ve swallowed lava.

I’m attempting a remedy that I initially thought to be counter-intuitive:  drinking a glass of warm water with lemon. The interwebs told me this was good, so I’m giving it a go. Lemon is an alkaline (not acid )when ingested, and is supposed to help neutralize your stomach acid. I have to say, it’s working nicely! Burny hot lava feeling is now down to mildly uncomfortable roasting marshmallow feeling in my throat.

Today begins a 4 day weekend for me, and what I’m realizing will be the last big holiday weekend sans child. I have absolutely zero plans other than hanging out at home, cleaning, and doing last minute baby prep. Maybe watching some Wire? Reading? On one hand, I’m so grateful to have this quiet time. On the other hand, I feel like somewhat of a loser for not having any BBQ plans with friends, or ambitions to brave the crowds and see a fireworks show. Part of me wishes my dance card weren’t so empty, but I need to take some responsibility for basically  being a hermit the last few months of the pregnancy and not really making an effort with friends. Now that I’m 9 months along, the thought of doing anything that requires me to be on my feet for extended periods of time, or amongst hot and sweaty crowds is doubly unappealing. The sulky part of me feels that this is just the tip of the iceberg, and once I have a kid, my friends (the vast majority of whom are childless) will have even less interest in doing things with me. Neither Hubs nor I have ever been social butterflies, but I don’t want Bagel to grow up like I did, with parents who never had any friends over, and basically never went out. I’m hoping to find a happy medium somewhere, but does anyone have any advice on how to successfully maintain friendships with friends who have no kids, and who probably don’t want to spend their free weekends hanging with yours?

Bagel’s stretching is getting stronger every day, and her movements at times really tire me out. She never seems to grow tired of moving one leg up and down the side of my stomach, and now that she’s bigger, I just watch her little heel traverse my belly. I can’t wait to actually feel that little heel and give it a little squeeze. Sitting up from bed, or doing anything that involves standing is…interesting. I never understood what other pregnant women bitched about when they talked about getting out of bed with a big belly. I get it now.

I’ve had a few Braxton Hicks the last few days, but the most noticeable new symptom is cervical cramping. I’ve had cramps that last about 5 minutes at a time that feel like mild menstrual cramps. I’m hoping this is my cervix doing its business to prep and get Bagel out safe and sound. I have a doc appointment on Monday and he will check to see what (if anything) is going on in there. My hope is that by Monday (38 weeks, 1 day) I will at least be somewhat effaced.

Let’s kick this shit into gear!

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

3 responses »

  1. I think the first year of having a baby will inevitably mean your social life takes a dip… but I’m sure your childless friends will be happy to come over and hang out, even if it’s just for an hour or two, and you can try to time it for when Bagel is napping. Once she’s a year old, though, I vote for getting an awesome babysitter and really making the effort to leave the house… or just taking turns so you and hubby go out separately. Honestly, I think it’s up to you to make sure your social life doesn’t go down the tubes — it takes effort, but so worth it. Hermit parents are LAME! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I don’t have a whole lot of advice regarding keeping your childless friends, but I will say as a currently childless friend of many mamas, I always enjoy some baby time, especially when they are little. Once they get to that running around, screaming toddler stage not so much. 🙂 But I would encourage you to think about making some new friends who have babies around the same age as Bagel. Then Bagel has someone to play with, and you have someone to bounce off “Does this sound normal?” kinds of things.

    Reply
  3. I have also been dialing back my social engagements and am finding that some things are just “too much” to do with swollen feet, etc. I say take it one day at a time and don’t be hard on yourself. This is just one season in your life and enjoy the R&R. I bet once you have the baby you will actually cherish time with your kidless friends more as a way to escape diaper duty for a few hours! and, of course, there are a ton of mommy & me things you can get into to meet new parents and kids and make new friends. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

