RSS Feed

39 weeks

Posted on

Am I really here? 39 weeks feels exciting and surreal, and I think that maybe some uncomfortable pregnancy symptoms are finally catching up with me.

Bagel feels like she weighs a ton. I don’t know what happened in the last couple of weeks but the difference I feel in her body mass as I move around or turn over in bed is drastic. I feel her entire body sort of roll around in my stomach when I roll. I’m often a bit paranoid when I sleep on one side and can feel her arm or leg push at me as if she’s uncomfortable in the position that I’ve chosen. Sorry Bagel! I need to sleep, too, ya know.

She has noticeably moved down in my pelvis to a point where I am now experiencing occasional sharp shooting pains in my, um, rectum. Anyone else ever had this happen? It’s no joke, I tell ya. I will feel her wiggle down or stretch, and all of a sudden there will be this intense pressure on my cervix and rectum, and then excruciating shooting pains in that area to a point where I’ve yelped and buckled to the floor. The pain subsides after about 30 seconds, but you have got to be shitting me if this is what I’m in for with labor, only more intense…I am actually kind of terrified. These pains happen about 1-2 times per day.  I am wondering if this is a symptom of some internal hemorrhoids, or if this is just par for the course when the baby drops? I have not tried stool softeners or laxatives at all during this pregnancy, but I am heading out later tonight to buy some Miralax in hopes that I may be able to clean out my pipes and relieve some of the pressure off my internal rectal area.

In other “bodily functions I wouldn’t usually discuss with the world” news,  my vag has decided that now would be a GREAT time to start itching. The itch is concentrated on the inner side of the outer lips, and not anywhere internal which makes me question whether or not it’s a yeast infection. Heat rash? It’s certainly not from shaving down there (I’m Amazonian again…) I have an OB appointment on Tuesday, and I will bring it up to him. The weird thing is, there is no reddness or bumps, only itchiness…WTF? I have been popping acidophilus pills like some sort of Celebrity Rehab flunky and meticulously cleaning the area with a wash cloth even after I pee, but the itch has not gone away after a few days. Grrr.

Finally, it’s been hitting me in a major way that I will be a mom to this little girl in a couple of weeks or less…It feels so overwhelming and incomprehensible to me at this point. I have to believe everything will just “click” when she comes out and I see her for the first time, but to try to put my head in that place mentally right now is sort of beyond me…Right now, Bagel is this ethereal little creature that moves around in my stomach and pokes her tiny butt out of the middle of my abdomen occasionally. I can’t help but pat that cute little bump every time I see it, and when I do, she moves around. I can’t tell if I’m annoying her at this point, but darn it, it’s so damn cute.

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

4 responses »

  1. you might be experiencing what people described to me as “lightening crotch”… I never got it bc baby never dropped but I think its normal. not sure about the itching… I had that too but I attributed it to some new wet wipes I was using?

    Reply
  2. nonsequiturchica

    Yay 39 weeks! I can’t believe that Bagel is almost here!

    I hope your OB has a cure for your itch down there. That doesn’t sound like fun.

    Reply
  3. WOW! 39 weeks. So, so exciting. I can’t imagine what must be going through your head right about now. When I was reading about the shooting pains to the cervix/ rectum, I was thinking the same thing as Kathryn – “lightning crotch.” Awesome name! I had this happen last week, but don’t know if I’m way too early to feel that? But I was having these sharp, stabbing pains in my cervix, like inside of me. Enough that I actually had to say “OW” out loud.

    Also, the itching could just be increased blood flow. If there’s no infection or any other cause, the increased blood flow can make it tingle, itch or burn.

    Can you believe we’re talking about these things??

    Reply
  4. i hear you about “feeling the weight” of the baby all of a sudden. It really feels like i’m carrying around a human being! I cannot believe we will have babies, soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

