RSS Feed

Damnit.

Posted on

Back from a doc appointment, and it appears as though NOTHING has changed or progressed in the last week. Still one fingertip dilated and 25% effaced. He also said that when he sort of felt around my cervix, his glove came back unbloodied, which I guess is another sign that nothings really brewing.

I know that I said in my last post that I wasn’t *that* uncomfortable with the whole pregnancy thing, but fuck that–I am now worried about induction. I know I have a ways to go before that comes up (I’m only 2 days late for Chrissake!), but I just want my body to do its thing in a timely fashion. My doc knows how much I do not want to be induced, and he is willing to let me go to 42 weeks without “going there”, but after that…I’m going to need some intervention.

He has me scheduled for a non stress test this Friday, and then I see him again next Tuesday. Between now and then I intend to do a ton of walking, bouncing, and mediocre sexing to see if that helps any. I’m just frustrated. I have been feeling cramps off and on and some Braxton Hicks all week. I thought for sure that there would have been some change from last week. Being even a few days late just stirs up all sorts of anxiety in me that my body will (yet again) not do what it’s supposed to do.

I have a family history of going late (my mom claims I was 19 days late–how they let her go that long is beyond me…there was meconium in my amniotic fluid at that point) and my sister was 9 days late. I feel like the knee jerk response of the medical industry now days is to talk induction if you’re a week late, but I am hoping that I can hold course and that my body will do its thing…

Hopeful words of encouragement?

 

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

18 responses »

  1. 4 days before my due date I was progressed ZERO. No dialation, no effacement. My dr told me he’d see me next week. I went full bore, sex, acupuncture, chugging red raspberry leaf tea and shoving evening primrose oil up my hoo-ha. Labor started that Saturday ( appointment had been Wednesday). I don’t know what worked….but it can’t hurt!!!

    Reply
  2. Acupuncture is worth trying. I think hypnobabies has an induction track, and mind-body stuff really works for me. It’s worth a try. You can also do some of that stuff on your own- imagining and visualizing opening, softening, etc. That kind of stuff helped me during labor too, and I went fast/easy with both labors. Also, my mom went 17 days late, and I carried that baggage with me through part of my pregnancy worried that I would have to be induced. When I read a hypnobabies book, one of the things it focused on was not carrying others’ baggage into your birth experience. That really spoke to me because I was totally setting myself up for that. Is it really hereditary to go overdue, or do we perpetuate it by expecting it to happen because we think it’s hereditary? I don’t have the answer, but it’s something to think about. Good luck! I hope baby cooperates and I’m glad your care provider is supportive of waiting until 42 weeks.

    Reply
    • Such a good point about letting go of the baggage. I know I’ve been carrying a lot of negative thoughts about how late my mon went. I will look into hypnobabies as I love meditation cd’s!

      Reply
  3. Wishing you all the best!

    Reply
  4. well my story is not encouraging but guess what.. it ended with a baby!! 🙂 no matter what it will be ok when all ends with a healthy baby. hoping you erupt into labor any minute!!

    Reply
  5. Every time I see a post from you, I jump on it…hoping for news. I am chewing on my fingernails in anticipation. Here’s hoping something happens soon. All on its own.

    Reply
  6. Indulge in some super spicy food? You can do this hun. Sending labour vibes across the pond: She’s gonna come on her own and soon…
    Apparently I was 24 days late(sorry that probably doesn’t help!). My mum was a total crazy hippy who refused induction several times !

    Reply
  7. Remember my “Something just happened to my vagina” story? You can go from zero to ready pretty quick. This is just evidence that she is a very smart baby. She knows where it’s at. Why the hell would anyone want to leave that nice, cushy if cramped space with a constant food supply?

    Reply
    • Ha! Youre right. I’ve been treating her too well 🙂 time to become a slum lord! I do remember the “something happened to my vagina” story. Keeps me hopeful!

      Reply
  8. I, too, am very unhappy/terrified at the thought of induction, but I just wanted to share a positive story. A friend of mine just gave birth 2 days ago. She was induced cold, went to hospital with no signs of labor, then had water broken, pit, the whole 9 yards. 6 hours later she’s pushing out her beauty baby girl. She dilated and effaced so fast, they could barely get the epidural in. Now, I doubt that you will go this route at all, but just wanted to share a positive induction story, just in case it helps 🙂

    Reply
  9. 19 days late?!! What was your fetal self thinking?? That’s basically like pooping the bed and then inhaling it… eewww… could NOT have been fun. Is there any way to tell whether Bagel is doing the same thing? ‘Cause as long as there isn’t meconium in the amniotic fluid, I’d imagine it would be fine to keep her in there for a while yet. Also, you can do PLENTY in two weeks to move things along, as all these kind readers have suggested… oh, and I just learned that it’s not necessarily sex that helps instigate labour, but rather the act of orgasming (which makes your uterus contract)… so maybe kick your hubs out of the room and get down to business yourself?

    Reply
    • As far as I know, there’s no real way to tell if there is meconium in there until the water breaks, although I have heard there may be a test they can do? I hear both semen (which softens your cervix) and orgasm (which causes the release of oxytocin) are both good for labor. Business has been gotten down to! And still no Bagel yet.

      Reply
  10. You know, most first time moms are at least a week late. I was 10 days late before they induced me, but there was no meconium in there with my Bea when they broke my water. At that point I was 11 days late. Don’t panic too much yet. It’s very, very normal to be overdue, especially with your first.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

