RSS Feed

Plan of Attack

Posted on

I am working on my plan of attack this week. Yes, yes, I know that Bagel will come when she’s ready, and that I logically have no real control over this situation, but when I start to see shit veering towards the proverbial “fan” of a Pitocin induction, I’d like to feel like I have done everything humanly possible to prevent it. If, at the end of 41 weeks, Bagel hasn’t arrived, well, I’ll have another plan of attack for how to best approach that. But for now, Operation Get Bagel’s Head To Engage My Cervix is in full effect.

First up on the plan: fuck work. My boss has already given me the go ahead to work from home this week, and I am taking her up on this offer. I will do my best to get work done remotely, but I also want to be able to focus a bit more attention on getting Bagel in a proper position on my cervix. I somehow fear that my constant sitting/bad posture at work has not been helping progress things.

My doula gave me the following tips which I’m going to implement this week:

  • Brisk walking and stairs. Goal is to do a 2 mile walk in the mornings, and potentially another 2 mile walk in the evenings.
  • Evening Primrose oil: 2 500mg capsules in the morning, and 2-3 punctured and inserted vaginally at night.
  • Squats: 20 reps, once in the morning, once at night. These supposedly open the pelvis and get Bagel sittin pretty on my cervix.
  • Labor ball any time I’m watching TV. No more couch slumping!
  • Red Raspberry Leaf Tea: 3-4 cups per day
  • Sex: Assuming I feel all right from my yeast infection, I will attempt sex, but I also want to be cautious I’m not re-triggering symptoms.

Elle from Cotton Bottom Mama gave some great advice in the comment thread last post which I’m really taking to heart which is to let go of my baggage about my mom’s overdue birth, or others’ birth stories. There’s nothing written that says that I will have the same experience, and I think this is really important to keep in mind. I feel like I have been psyching myself up for an overdue labor this entire pregnancy based on the fact that my mom went late. I am not my mother!! (well, at least that’s what I’m trying to tell myself…)

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

5 responses »

  1. I’m so glad it was a helpful comment! Here is the track I mentioned in case you couldn’t find it: https://www.hypnobabies.com/store/product/60-come-out-baby-mp3
    You will do great no matter what happens. I’m so excited for you- giving birth is so incredible.

    Reply
  2. Your plan of attack sounds PERFECT. Just last night my husband and I were talking about when I went into labor and all the walking I had done that day. He mentioned thinking that maybe my being off work already (I’d been off for about a week – work-mandated and paid FTW!!) probably meant I was more active and that helped Sofia engage and get the ball rolling. It’s a valid theory, i guess, and more activity is probably a good plan regardless!

    I really second what Elle said about leaving the expectations at the door. I was certain I’d go late, and I was completely wrong. Also, I know so many women who’ve had pre-40w babies the first time around and post-40w babies the 2nd, or vice versa. Not only are you not your mom, but NO ONE has ever been pregnant with Bagel before, and, honestly, she’s probably the one calling the shots!

    Reply
  3. Alissa (MissConception)

    You can do this! You are so close my dear and I can only imagine how eager and anxious you must feel, but at least baby will be strong and healthy. That is so important for nursing and avoiding Jaundice and the myriad of other issues with pre-40 week babies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

