RSS Feed

Bagel Non Stress Test

Posted on

Well. Today I go in for my first Non Stress Test to make sure little Bagel is active and responsive, and has enough of the good ole amniotic fluid to keep her cushy in here a while longer. Since apparently she is very cozy in my ute, and I was feeling idle, I did go to one meeting yesterday for work where people gawked and told me I was “all belly”. One “kindly” co-worker told me that it looked like Bagel hadn’t even dropped yet, she was so high in my stomach. Gee, thanks! Just what I needed to hear as I head into 41 weeks pregnant.

I have been doing my walks, squats, sex, evening primrose oil, and sitting on the labor ball the last few days, but nothing feels very different. Not to get too graphic (but of course, I will), when I inserted the primrose oil capsules last night, I noticed my cervix was basically unreachable it was so high, which can’t be a good thing. Everything I’ve read says the cervix is low when labor is about to begin. I will get very occasional cramps, but nothing notable.

Hubs and I had a discussion about inducing labor at exactly 42 weeks, and both of us are very hesitant to do it simply because of the date on the calendar. I realize that many people may have differing opinions on this, and I would not judge anyone for choosing to induce at 42, but for me, it is just really not sitting well. My gut is telling me to wait a bit longer, if it comes down to me being pregnant at 42 weeks. I feel very healthy. Bagel moves around constantly, and seems perfectly fine.  If I do hit 42 weeks without any signs of labor, I’m going to speak to my doctor about scheduling NST tests every other day that week to make sure that Bagel is still being responsive, and of course if there is anything like low fluid levels, or she seems like she is getting stressed, I will induce. But if there is a chance she could come naturally at 42 + 4 days, I’m really not understanding why I would induce at 42 weeks exactly. It feels arbitrary to me. There is a higher risk of meconium at 42 weeks, but from what I have been reading, the Pitocin given to induce labor at 42 weeks can often stress the baby, leading to the passing of meconium, thus furthering the statistic that babies born after 42 weeks pass meconium. As far as placental function, I feel like the every other day NSTs would be able to alert us to anything wrong in that department (decreased fetal movement, low fluid, or Bagel’s heart rate not increasing when she moves). I’m hoping that I don’t have to get to a place where I need to make these decisions, but it was good to know that Hubs and I were on the same page about asking for just a bit more time before an induction.

Sigh.

I will update everyone on today’s NST.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

9 responses »

  1. I’m sure you’ve started trying everything under the sun to induce yourself, but just in case, have you tried acupressure?

    http://www.givingbirthnaturally.com/acupressure-to-induce-labor.html

    Or herbs? This is directly from my midwife:

    For home induction take 10 drops of Black Cohosh combined with 3 dropperfuls of Cotton Root Bark in tincture form every half hour for 2-3 hours.

    Good luck!

    Reply
  2. I totally agree with you guys… I’ve heard that it’s safe to go as long as 3 to 4 weeks past your due date as long as baby’s vitals and everything check out OK. Weird question, but is there any way, if they MUST induce, that they could give you a much lower dose of pitocin to see what happens? Might aggravate things less, at least…

    Reply
  3. could always do the balloon induction :p sooooo fun. a friend of mine got cervadil overnight and that sent her into labor.. no pitocin. I know how frustrating it is to try everything and still not go into labor. hindsight is 20/20 nothing I would have done would have gotten Tabs out. a lot of women go past their due date and labor happens on its own. a lot of people are induced and have vaginal births. anything can happen. it just sucks not knowing!!

    Reply
    • I totally agree. Tabs was not budging for you and that’s something that’s impossible to predict. In the end, you have one adorable girl! I talked to the nurse about cervadil so that may be the first step.

      Reply
  4. Has anyone suggested the essential oil clary sage? Mix it with a base oil like jojoba and then rub it on your bump, and make sure to get a good whiff of it! Worked for me (well, maybe, it was one of many things I tried!). Good luck xx

    Reply
  5. Bagel is just too cozy in there. I hope she gets a move on soon. I would be hesitant to induce as well so fingers crossed Bagel gets the memo that it’s time to pack up and move out of your ute. 🙂

    Reply
  6. I’m hoping this is totally a moot point by now, but I was just wondering if your due date was adjusted since you knew O date or if it was based on LMP. Wouldn’t that give you a few extra days?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

