RSS Feed

41 +2

Posted on

I got all excited on Sunday after losing my mucus plug. SURELY this meant that I would go into labor in the next 24 hours, right??!! Instead…I went into work yesterday. I have to admit, it was fun seeing all of my co-workers slack jawed that I was at my desk. At this point, I’m sort of like a roaming ghost in the office–no one knows when I will show up or for how long I will stay. It’s gotten to a point where I may just bite the bullet and take a few sick days this week so I can “officially” check out and turn off email without feeling guilty.

Aside from occasional cramping and frequent Braxton Hicks, Bagel is clearly still comfortable in her Mom’s ute. My sister called me yesterday letting me know she was going to cancel her trip down from San Francisco this weekend because as much as she loves me, she was hoping to get to meet Bagel, and it looks like I could still be 10 months pregnant at that time. I chuckle about this, considering a couple of months ago when we were planning her trip out here, I said, “There’s like a .0001% chance I’ll still be pregnant August 2nd. There’s no way I’m going that far over my due date.”

I had another weekly check up with the Ob yesterday where I was still at 1cm, 25% effaced (REALLY????!!!!!!) On the positive side, he said that my cervix was much MUCH softer and he could even get a finger all the way up it and feel the baby’s head, which I’m taking as a positive (albeit kind of gross) sign. I told him I’d been using the Evening Primrose Oil to which he predictably said that there has been no conclusive studies that it works to get the cervix ripened. Oh modern medicine. You amuse me sometimes. I told him I had lost my mucus plug a few days after using it, and he asked me if maybe it was just primrose oil I felt coming out–not the plug. Dude. Don’t insult my intelligence. I know the difference between leaking oil from my vag and a huge yellowish/green booger.

Although there were no big changes to report, I was pleasantly surprised that he did not try to push induction on me. In fact, he seemed very open and willing to have me go past 42 weeks if I choose, so long as I’m getting frequent NSTs and checks by him. If the baby doesn’t appear to be distressed and her fluid levels are OK then he’s ok letting me go to the end of next week before I induce. If I do go into next week, he would like me to do an ultrasound to check blood flow to the placenta to make sure Bagel is getting enough nutrients (which today consisted of Corn Pops–they were on sale at Ralph’s for $1.99! Don’t judge!) We will decide next Monday at my check up (should that check up happen…) what day we would induce and then work from there. If I am not in labor by next Wednesday, I’m busting out the castor oil, and then that’s it. If that doesn’t jump start me, a Friday induction it is.

Bagel, please come before next Friday…

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

9 responses »

  1. Come on bagel!!! I think the plug is a very good sign that things will be happening soon….

    Reply
  2. Please, Bagel, for the love, come soon! As an aside, my midwife said the same that research doesn’t support the use of evening primrose oil, but, anecdotally, she sees it work all.the.time. Lastly, I know you are doing a lot of the ginger tea business, but red raspberry leaf tea tea is quite delicious iced and is my favorite iced, herbal tea. I like to mix it the mango lemonade from TJ’s. Arnold Palmer? Yes please. I have no idea if it would bring on labor, but it would certainly keep you cool in the heat. Good luck!

    Reply
  3. Come on Bagel! If you don’t come soon I’m gonna come over there and smoke her out.

    Do let me know if you need me to wave my hands over your uterus. You know I have magical powers.

    Reply
  4. Aggghhhh you have me on the edge of my seat here! I can’t imagine what you’re going through mentally. Isn’t there a fastforward button? I guess, either way, it will all be over soon, huh? I’m keeping my fingers crossed that things happen on their own. Maybe even tonight!

    p.s. Corn Pops are amazing.

    Reply
  5. Wow – still here and still going strong! Damn, woman! It’s really awesome that your doctor will let you go to the end of 42 weeks. But, please, Bagel, don’t make that necessary!!!!

    Reply
  6. Ooooh, you’re so close! I hope Bagel comes very soon! The last few weeks are so hard. Hang in there!

    Reply
  7. Just found out that my mom went late with me too. (Why oh why did I ask??) I can totally relate to worry and baggage, but it seems like you’re past all that (good for you!) And just working on doing all the right things to do. Bagel will come soon, I’ve got a feelin’!! Hang in there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

