RSS Feed

Status Quo-ish

Posted on

Greetings!

I’m still digging myself out of a hole of baby screaming, but I wanted to give some updates.

First up, THANK YOU to everyone who chimed in on my post about Shira’s fussiness. I really REALLY appreciate it. We have been having our good days and our difficult days still, but every comment was like a God send, helping me feel less alone.

On good days, Shira coos and giggles and smiles on her changing table and tries to roll over. She gets excited to see her daddy. She babbles. She rarely cries, and calmly goes from feeding to sleeping. On her difficult days (I’m trying not to label them “bad”–just difficult.,,,) Shira will still smile and coo, but her moods go from zero to sixty in any direction. She could be happily sucking away and burped and changed, and all of a sudden, she absolutely DOES NOT want to be put down. Or I could put on her pants the “wrong way” and she begins to scream and cry louder than anything. Two days ago she went through a phase where she would not let me put her down without throwing a screaming fit. It took enormous effort to get her to nap, and everything was to the extreme. It may very well be my diet that’s doing this to her, but I honestly think this is just who she is. She has an intensity about her that burns in a positive and negative way.

One very big positive for us is that we switched bottles recently, and her feeds are 10 billion times calmer than they used to be. She is not guzzling milk down in 5 minutes or less, nothing dribbles, and she doesn’t choke on her food. The new bottles are the Playtex Ventaire–I would HIGHLY recommend them!! Another big positive is that she’s finally grown into the Ergo and will be worn! She refused to be put down two days ago, so this was really the only option I had to save my sanity. She fell asleep being worn, and I go to answer email and fold some laundry. A win!

Lastly on the “win” side, we have been working her up into napping in her crib. Two days ago during her mega crank fest, she refused to nap more than 20 minutes during the day, and we discovered that her swing in the living room is no longer going to work for napping. It’s too light in there, and she needs to be forced to sleep now. I have been monitoring the clock more than I ever have, and make sure that I am winding her down every 90 minutes or so in her dark bedroom. When she is good and sleepy, I swaddle her, and put her down. Yesterday she took a two hour nap in her crib!! Yippee!!!

Today was vaccination day, and she handled it like a champ. If anything, my daughter’s perpetual intense state makes her very strong when it comes to shots! They didn’t have a combo shot, so she got three separate shots, and although she cried, it lasted all of 20 seconds until she was back to cooing and smiling again. Honestly, I’ve seen her react more violently to a diaper change. The little dear has been sleeping most of the day since the shots, and I’m keeping an eye on her.

And finally, one dose of cuteness that was taken 10 seconds before she spit up all over the couch that I have kept in pristine condition for 10 years.

IMG_20131002_170501_625

Seriously, how could you not just eat this face UP??!!!

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

8 responses »

  1. i’m eating that face up! glad things are getting into more of a routine 🙂

    Reply
  2. Oh those little boogers. 🙂 we have been using the Standard Ventairs for months. Between those and Dr Brown, we are set!

    Reply
  3. Can’t stop looking at her precious face! And you have some big wins. She is thriving. And she sounds like a normal person, with good days and bad days 🙂

    Reply
  4. Yay for naps in the crib!!! Good job, go you! ❤

    Reply
  5. SO glad things are getting a bit better. And what a freaken cutie!

    Reply
  6. GAHHH!!! Those cheeks are KILLER! She is so freakin’ adorable, honestly… glad things are settling a bit and you’re gradually figuring out her moods and reactions to things. It’s obviously not an easy process, but I think you’re handling it like a champ!

    Reply
  7. She is SO cute!! I wanted to add that I was having similar issues with my DD in terms of eating, fussing, screaming….etc. And FINALLY, I tried the Ventaire bottles as well and seriously, a miracle has occurred. It’s the only bottle she won’t choke on. Hallelujah. Good job on the crib!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

