RSS Feed

11 Week updates

Posted on

Like many new parents before me…I have been slacking on the blog post. I always thought that I would be able to keep up with blogging and raising a newborn, but I must say, I’m doing a terrible job as a blogger. I’m pretty ok as a Mom, but this blogging business has taken a sideline.

Shira is napping now so I thought I would squeeze in 10 minutes to give some updates on being the parent of an 11 week old.

It has gotten easier…as much as I fought that advice and thought people were crazy when they said it, this week has been a turning point for us. I’m finally feeling comfortable and in control with my little girl. The first 4 weeks I was careening in an abyss of sleepless nights and painful pumping sessions. The second 4 weeks I was still barely clinging on–Shira went through an extremely fussy 3 weeks, and it’s so so hard when you feel like your baby is in discomfort and you will try anything to soothe her and nothing is working. These last 4 weeks have been much MUCH better. No more crying after feeds! Sleeping 6 hour stretches from 7PM to1 or 2AM most nights! She has relaxed and come into her own. She’s even starting to look like a little person!

At 11 weeks, she:

  • Has found her hands. She eats them as a tasty snack
  •  is a star at tummy time and even rolls from tummy to back with no crying!
  •  gives me and Hubs the most darling ear to ear grins in the morning that it’s hard to be pissed she wakes up at 5AM
  •  grabs on to my shoulder and buries her face in my chest which is yummy.
  •  seems to know the song “Wheels on the Bus” because she gets excited every time I sing it.
  • Babbles and babbles and babbles. This kid will talk early. I find it hilarious when my husband actually tries to teach her how to say words at this age and she’ll just stare blankly at him, but hey–it’s worth a shot!
  • Is a good eater. Hot milk, cold milk, boob milk, formula–this girl either can’t taste the difference or just doesn’t care.
  • Has HUGE cheeks. We’re nicknaming her the Godfather.

It is hitting me slowly but surely that I will be heading back to work in two weeks, and that I will miss my little girl terribly. I’m getting nervous that she goes to be so early (6:30 most nights) and how we will keep her up later so I can actually see her when I get home…any working mommies have any advice?

And, of course, I leave with a pic!

Shira_bow

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

6 responses »

  1. Adorable picture! I am so glad to hear you and Shira are doing better. 🙂

    Reply
  2. love love love, omg she is beautiful!

    Reply
  3. Oooooh those cheeks!

    Reply
  4. Wow! Sounds like she’s doing wonderfully! Congrats mom 🙂

    Reply
  5. She is so cute 🙂 Re: bedtime: she will push her own bedtime more towards 7 in the next couple of months. Until then, I would probably let her dictate her own bedtime, even if it is super early. 😦 It will suck to miss bedtime but she needs what she needs. Being a working mom is tough.

    Reply
  6. I am catching upon reading here… So glad you are finding your rhythm. I second not trying to push her bedtime back. I have tried this with Sabine and it always fails. Also, Shira looks mighty cute in her bow!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

