RSS Feed

16 Weeks

Posted on

My baby girl is growing up. Not just physically, but there has been a noticeable shift in her ability to self regulate in the past week or so. Wonder of wonders, miracles of miracles, I can put her down and she can play. by herself. for like, 20-30 minutes sometimes!! This would never. Repeat. NEVER. have happened in the first three months. Ever since she has gained the ability to grab things, she does so with a vengeance, and everything she grabs goes straight into her mouth. She makes a very strange loud grunting sound when she puts something in her mouth that implies satisfaction mixed with a slight hint of aggression. It’s quite amusing.

My baby girl will sometimes rest her head on my chest when she’s tired. She’s been doing this quite a bit lately, and I melt. Seriously. No matter what she’s done prior to that point (scream fest and rolling around in her poo, anyone?) once the head goes on my chest and she relaxes, it’s all out the window.

Being a working mom has been an interesting transition the past few weeks. I feel almost guilty about how much I love my job and getting out of the house….All that said, I feel incredibly guilty leaving her with Hubs because he is very unhappy that he doesn’t have a job right now, and has to stay with her two full days a week. Those days are the hardest to leave her…I just don’t know how to make it better for Hubs right now. He is miserable, and it doesn’t help that I’m excited by my work and doing interesting things all day while he changes diapers. I know what he’s feeling because I went through it with him for three full months. Staying at home with the baby is FREAKING HARD. I will never snub my nose at how hard it is again. There is a feeling of being very lonely, trapped, and bored that is hard to shake when you’re with a child full time. I get it now. On the positive side of everything, Shira lights up every time she sees Hubs, and they have a very good rhythm together, which is an experience that most Dads don’t get to have with their daughters. My mom has been helping out with child care three days a week, and Shira loves my mom, too. So, overall, it’s bittersweet. I work all day and barely get home in time for bath time during the week, but I know that Shira is being cared for by two of the most qualified people I can think of when I’m away.

Big 16 week milestones have been grabbing things, holding the bottle on her own, and transitioning from her co-sleeper to her big girl crib. This transition was big. She went through an AWFUL sleep regression in weeks 14 and 15ย  where she was waking up every hour. Now, in the crib, she is only waking up once or twice at night. This is HEAVEN, although I still feel like a freaking zombie most mornings.

The one thing that hasn’t changed about my little girl is her lightening quick moods and intense personality. Here are three shots I took within seconds of one another. My sweet, expressive little girl.

Shira_5 Shira_3Shira_4

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

7 responses »

  1. Ooooooh she is darling!!!!! And I agree about work. I work part time and stay home 2.5 days a week. As much as I love having time with them to watch them grow even those two days can be lonely and I very much look forward to hubby coming home.
    Also if you think 4 months is exciting in terms if personality, wait till 6! It’s my favorite so far!

    Reply
  2. Oh her expressions. lol. Happy… WTF DID YOU JUST SAY TO ME? oh hi, happy again. ahahahah
    work is a great break into motherhood. being home with a baby IS isolating. Total validation to the stay at home moms for sure. Staying home… working full time… every option is hard.
    Just wait until she can sit up on her own and play with a toy. It’ seven BETTER. It is amazing when you’re not in “baby circuit training” going from new activity with them every 4 minutes because they can’t do anything alone for more than 2.
    I am glad her sleeping is better. Sleep can make or break you. I feel permanently broken but HEY surely there is some super glue lying around here in the form of coffee…

    Reply
  3. Dude. #1: I’m going to have Fiddler songs stuck in my head all day. Thanks. #2: That aggressive mouth-grunting was how V treated my nipples. Cute but terrifying. #3: Your baby is. I can’t even handle it. So cute. So glad she’s figuring shit out. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  4. I get this post. I remember 4 months and it was a world of new things. The other ladies are right 6-7 months was so great! Sitting…but not crawling. The best. My son is really spirited also! Very opinionated and his mood is pretty unpredictable. But it makes him a fun kid. My hubby also watches him two days a week while I work. Our schedules overlap so we each have two days on our own and two days with grandma. You hubs will get used to it and things will get easier, but it is sure not an easy job.

    Reply
  5. Opinionated baby mamas unite! Ahh! I have a boy glued to me and a girl who Knows What She Wants. Like Shira, once my Banana was able to do things on her own life became so much easier. Each transition to new skills is especially hard, but each new skill that lets her be more independent makes her happier and happier. So, phew! People say they wish for the time before crawling again, but I don’t, as Banana was never more miserable when she wanted to get something out of reach but didn’t know how to crawl (and would give up out of frustration, and scream). She’ll be moving before you know it, more work for you but more joy for her! That is if sheis like Banana. I’ve never seen her more happy ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  6. I don’t think you should feel guilty about enjoying going back to work. I think I will be ready too when the time comes. But, of course, I will probably have feelings of guilt too. It’s too bad for your husband about his job, but nice for your daughter that she can be with her daddy.

    p.s. I sent you an email. Did you get it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

