RSS Feed

Jogging: Or, as I call it, “Did I just pee myself?”

Posted on

To say “it’s been a while” may be the understatement of the decade. Little Girl is 8 months old now. 8 MONTHS. My last blog about her was half her lifetime ago. Literally. It’s very hard to put into words how much I love my daughter, or how grateful I feel to have her, but between working 50-60 hours a week and her not sleeping through the night until…last week…my energy for all things “blog” has gone down the toilet. I never EVER believed that I would become one of “those people” obsessed with getting my child to sleep, but after 7 months of prisoner-of-war-style sleep torture waking up 2-4 times every night, I get it now. I GET why, without 5 hours of straight sleep ever, over the span of months and months, your brain reaches a level of sub-function to a point where the fantasy of sleep takes over every waking thought. Going into pregnancy and childbirth I read about “all those other parents” who trained their kids, or had problems with sleep. I sadly shook my head and wondered how it was they couldn’t manage to get their baby on a sleep schedule. Why was it so difficult to set boundaries? Please feel free to bitch slap my former self. By month 6, when everyone else’s baby seemed to be sleeping through the night, and mine was still screaming 2 hours after going to bed, I started to crack. And finally, after hearing my husband calmly and eerily whisper “shut the fuck up” to my 7.5 month old after she had been up 5 times already before 3AM (which, by the way, I would have said in a heartbeat that night had I gotten to her first), I made the executive decision the following night to train her. We did a gentle method of sleep training which I won’t bore you with right now, but….holy SHIT IT WORKED!!!! My daughter has slept through the night for 7 days STRAIGHT, 10-12 hours at a time. I feel the synapses in my brain beginning to tingle back together again, and so I thought I would write.

Along with blogging, exercise was chucked out the window in favor of sleep as well. I am still up 15 pounds from where I was pre-pregnancy, and it bugs the hell out of me, but I had no energy to deal with it until now. So yesterday, feeling kind of fancy because I slept 8 hours, I laced up my running shoes and went for a jog. All was well until I felt something very watery and wet trickle into my underwear, and to be honest, I have no clue if it was watery ovulation discharge or pee. Ever since childbirth, I have been known to pee myself occasionally while sneezing, and god knows I don’t ever ovulate, so my guess is it was pee. But you know what? That run felt great. I hope to pee myself more frequently in the coming weeks as I get back into shape.

As for my little girl? Well, she is crawling, pulling to stand, and yesterday, shakily let go of me for a few seconds to stand on her own. she is saying “mama”, “dada”, “baba” and knows how to clap her hands and wave hi and goodbye (although her wave is more like a “come hither” beckoning with her hand, I’ll take it). I am so proud of the lightening speed in which she is developing, and I honestly can’t wait to see her become more and more her own little person. She has been active and engaged in everything since birth, but I’m really starting to see that side of her shine in the way her motor skills are developing. She’s a love!!!

Image

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

13 responses »

  1. Tell me your sleep secrets!!!!

    Reply
  2. Well hi! I can’t believe your little peanut is so big! She’s adorable! All I could think about while reading this post is how my twins are now 9 months today, and don’t do ANY of what your daughter does. They don’t crawl, wave, try to stand, say any words…etc.

    So consider yourself lucky 🙂

    Reply
    • Hi!!! I’m just catching up with all of my blogs and OMG your babies are so so cute!!! It’s been too long. I’m going to get back in the swing of writing and following again 🙂 And re: milestones–your babes are totally on track. It’s been a blessing and a curse that mine has never ever wanted to sit in one place since day one, and she has been an early mover out of frustration, I think!

      Reply
  3. Damn she’s cute!!! 17 months later and I still pee myself, so if you find the magic cure – please let me know! Though I have read that wearing a tampon puts just the right amount of pressure on the bladder to help it……
    Congrats on the sleep. WHAT a relief!! You must feel amazing

    Reply
  4. Please, please, please use your newly firing synapses to discuss your gentle sleep training methods.

    Reply
    • The synapses are fired up and working on how to capture 7.5 months of sleep hell into one blog entry (with the last couple of weeks of my life being AMAZING now that she’s sleeping.)

      Reply
  5. OMFG. She could not be any CUTER.

    Reply
  6. OMG. Those cheeks.
    Isn’t it amazing to finally get sleep and be a functioning human being again? I’m impressed you managed to work all those hours with so little sleep. Not an easy feat.

    Reply
  7. Look at her! So sweet! Sleep is NOT overrated when you have a child. I knew at even one month old, I could not be a mom waking up 3 times a night after I started working full time again. I started a Babywise (eat, play, sleep) schedule and a gentle night sleep training at 6 weeks…my child is a good sleeper and has been since 4-5 months. I know a lot of people are pro-attachment parenting (no CIO), co-sleeping, but I just couldn’t do it. I am too light a sleeper and BF’ing didn’t work out, so our plan worked well for us.
    Second, I too have issues in the pee department. I have to wear a panty liner any time I will be doing any kind of exercise. Sneezing…pee. I feel like an old lady.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

