RSS Feed

Getting real

Posted on

Welp. It’s official. My last attempt at weight loss ended almost exactly where I began. After three weeks of diligent calorie counting and staying within 1200-1400 calories a day, I experienced an initial weight loss, and then promptly gained back 5 pounds in the blink of an eye. My thyroid checked out as totally normal, so I don’t think that’s the problem. The problem is, I’m not 22 anymore and I had a baby–the sleep deprivation alone over the past 12 months has been enough to whack out my body for sure. But enough is enough. I’m 15 pounds heavier than I was when I got pregnant, and Shira is almost a year old. It’s time I outgrew my maternity pants. As much as I wanted to believe that I could lose weight on 3 pieces of cheesecake all day with no exercise, I found myself increasingly hungry, craving sugars and fats, and feeling bloated an exhausted at the end of the day….and, oh yeah, the whole weight gain thing. It sucks.

I think I mentioned in my last post that I had heard about this diet plan called 21 Day Fix. It’s a 21 Day plan that involves portion control, properly ratio-ed fats/proteins/carbs, and 6 days a week of 30 minutes of exercise. It is not a quick fix, and it’s not easy because every day takes a LOT of thought about what I’m eating, but since my “quick and easy” plan basically blew up in my face, I needed to try something different.  I began the diet plan yesterday, and decided that this blog would be a perfect forum to document my progress. I’ll also be posting my menu plans.

The diet portion of this plan gives you different colored containers for different food groups. Green=vegetables (it’s the biggest container), Purple= fruit, Red= protein, Yellow= starch, Blue= healthy fats, Orange= nuts and seeds, and you’re allowed a couple of teaspoons of peanut/nut butter throughout the day. You find out how many calories you need to take, and then the program gives you the amount of each container you need to eat per day. For me, I need to eat 3 green, 2 purple, 4 red, 1 blue, 1 orange, and 2 yellow, plus two teaspoons.

It sounds easy, but unless you’re content eating bland tupperwares filled with raw fruits, veggies, cheeses, eggs, and meats, you need to make recipes that have all of these foods in them, but still taste good. This is where the hours of food prep come in. Thus far, I’ve made roasted veggies, roasted sweet potato, egg and avocado salad, watermelon feta salad, tropical fruit salad with shredded coconut, homemade salad dressing, and oatmeal “cookies” made with oats and applesauce. I did most of this last night when Shira went to bed. It felt great to cook, but MAN. It’s  not easy.

The workout part of this plan is also challenging, but not as challenging as looking at my instructor:

Autumn Calabrese.

My new nemesis.

This woman is my age, has had a kid, and–wait for it–isn’t even annoying on the workout DVD’s. Argh!! I want to hate her, but she is making it so hard!!!

I took a before pic last night which was really difficult, actually. I haven’t been confronted with the way my body has changed post baby, and seeing the image was pretty shocking. I feel like I don’t even look like ME anymore.

Anyhow. That’s the report for now. I will post my measurement stats, my meal plan, and some recipes throughout the week. But for now, I’ll end with my starting weight:

141.6 pounds

Goal: 127 pounds

 

 

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

5 responses »

  1. Oh my god our current weight and goal weight are identical! I go back and forth between being hard on myself that I still look like “this,” and then realize life is hard, I have a baby, and I don’t look that bad. Considering.

    That being said, my go-to diet is Weight Watchers. I really like it because it helps with portion control but i don’t change much about what I normally eat. But it IS more work. Cooking and making lots of healthy snacks and NOT doing delivery.

    As for exercise…um. What?

    Reply
  2. In the same boat as you (except I have an another 10 lbs to lose… :/)! I’m calorie counting (while attempting to hit certain macronutrient percentages) and just started jogging again.

    Best of luck!!

    Reply
  3. Yeah. It’s pretty much time to get serious about losing the last of the baby weight and I just can’t get motivated. I am all about easy these days and fitting in cooking and exercise is not going to be easy. But, I need to do it. I want to fit in my clothes again. I want to just feel better. I’ll be interested to follow along and see how this diet works for you. Last time I went on a diet I did the South beach diet and I liked it so I might try that again.
    That being said, I turn 40 in less than a week. I need lots of sugar and alcohol to get through it, so there won’t be any dieting until after that. (So much for my goal of being back in shape by my birthday. sigh)

    Reply
  4. I like the sounds of that plan – knowing how much to eat of each food type would be helpful! Good luck!

    Reply
  5. Can’t wait to see how this goes for you. I follow a couple other bloggers who have done it and love it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

