RSS Feed

Frustration

Posted on

Anyone’s metabolism take a huge turd after the baby?

I went into my weight loss challenge with such zest. I counted calories and did a little happy jig when I saw I lost 6 pounds in a week.

Then it just stopped. The last three weeks I have not only stopped losing weight, I have GAINED. After eating 1400 calories a day, I somehow managed to go from 138 to 140.

Shira (bless her sleep trained little heart) has been sleeping through the night for a good 2 months now, so aside from the 50-60 hour work weeks, I have no excuse not to start exercising again. I think this is the only way I will ratchet up my metabolism from “Sloth” to “Lazy Cat”.

Thankfully, Hubs is in the same boat, and we have decided to team up and do a weight loss program. A Program, people! It sounds so officially weight lossie, doesn’t it? I caved and bought 21 Day Fix--which is supposed to FIX all of my weight loss problems and turn me into a ripped super model in 21 days, of course! Duh!

I intend to follow this program to a tee, and post on my results. Little did I know when I bought it that the diet portion of the program would be so detailed, so I’m going to have to do a lot of planning in order to have success. The program comes with colored Tupperware that you fill with certain food groups throughout the day. There is no calorie counting, but rather, you eat whatever you can fit into the Tupperware.

The infomercial made the Tupperware look big and hearty. Little did I know the tupperwear for “fats and dressings” is about as big as a thimble. The other sizes aren’t much bigger than my fist, so who knows how I’ll do on this, but it’s worth a shot.

I start on June 2. Until then, I’m living it up and ate mac and cheese for dinner.

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

3 responses »

  1. Yes I started gaining almost 2lb a week. I went to my endocrinologist and it turned out my thyroid had shut off (this was more than 4mo after the babies were born). I started full hormone replacement and my weight gain stopped, I lost a lot of the weight I had rapidly gained, and now I am still struggling to lose weight but at least I’m not gaining (well, except the last few weeks I have been, but I’ve been eating a lot of stress food too). My thyroid still has not kicked back on and likely won’t come back, and I am still taking full hormone replacement for the foreseeable future.

    Anyway, if you notice you are gaining quickly then I recommend going to the doctor to make sure everything is working properly.

    Good luck!!!

    Reply
  2. missconception

    Oh yes. I was really strict for 3 or 4 months and lost the baby weight last year then something shut off. I even stepped up the gym time. Didn’t lose one pound. I am planning on the strict course again mid-june. I can’t let it go to waste all the hard work. I would start now but I will be on vacation in a week. No way. Hang in there.

    Reply
  3. My thyroid also went on vacation like 6 months after I gave birth–did not help the weight loss very much! Also, I did the 21 day fix a few months ago! There was a group of us that followed it to a T and had decent results! My word of advice–take your measurements and base your successes off of them. No one in my group really lost more than a couple of pounds, but everyone did lose inches! I was pretty active before I did the program, so the exercises didn’t really do much for me (though they did kick my butt!!), but I did change my outlook on food and still following the diet part of the program 3 months later!

    Reply

Leave a comment