RSS Feed

So, yeah. This happened this morning.

Posted on

This is an LH test, party people. NOT the other kind of test. Just wanted to preface that!

Ok, so forget the fact that my bed head looks like I’m a truck stop prostitute after a long night…

I just got my first positive OPK. I think. The test line may be like a millimeter of a shade lighter than the comparison line, but only if you squint.

Early this morning (CD 16) I experienced a very “full” sensation in my lower abdomen and cervix–the kind of fullness I get right around ovulation time. Which is weird, because up until now, I’ve had exactly zero symptoms. I’ve also pretty much given up on temping. I decided to give it a go and prove to myself that this was all in my head and give myself a cheapie ovulation test.

I come back into the bathroom five minutes later to find two solid, dark lines on the test…Three days ago, there was nary a whisper of a test line on my OPK.

Look, let’s get one thing straight. My body is still a freaking mess, and I don’t want to get my hopes up AT ALL, but this is the first time I’ve ever had two dark lines. I am too cheap to splurge on more expensive OPKs, so the cheapo pee sticks are all I have at home for now. I may swing by CVS and pick up a better one today.

Here’s where I do a mini freak out, because I haven’t ovulated in over a year, never once while we’ve been “trying”, and assuming that this isn’t my body’s cruel attempt to fuck with me yet again (which I’m still fairly certain might happen), I am in a bit of a panic mode about when Hubs and I need to sex it up. We didn’t do it last night, but we did it Monday night and Tuesday night. I get home pretty late tonight after my night class, so perhaps we should do it this morning before work? If something’s going to happen, I assume with a positive OPK, it happens in the next 24 hours?

About Sunny

I'm a happily married, 31 year old gal who is just starting her journey to conceive. I also have ovaries that may need a jump start. This blog is an attempt to channel my obsessive research on my Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome into something positive....like a pregnancy test. That would be awesome. I also hope that other women with this condition will find support in this blog. There are a lot of us out here! Happy reading, whatever your journey may be.

21 responses »

  1. YAY! Go ovaries go! I’d totally get it on this morning, and, because I’m completely obsessive, probably tonight, too. Good luck Sunny!

    Reply
  2. 24-36 hrs. Yay!!!!! And keep testing so you know when you actually ovulate! It’s time to get down to Business girl. It’s business time! I’ll stop now. 🙂

    Reply
  3. I believe once you get the positive you will ovulate in the next 24-48 hours. Good luck!

    Reply
  4. Yeah, I think you have a day or two between a positive OPK and ovulation.

    Good luck! I hope you’re able to catch that egg!

    Reply
  5. Amazing! I would just keep doin’ it and doin’ and doin’ it well 🙂 While it’s true that you won’t ovulate for another 24-48 hours, the sperm need to be lurking when the egg releases so you actually want to have lots of lovin before you ovulate. And also on the day of ovulation just in case. Hell, it wouldn’t hurt to do it the day after as well.

    Tell your husband he’s going to need to get back into 15 year old boy mentality for the next few days. I’m no doctor (although I like to play one on my blog) but I prescribe lots and lots of sex 🙂

    Reply
  6. Yeah! Ya’ll can DO this, literally. Get it on! How exciting!

    Reply
  7. YAY! It’s about time those ovaries decided to kick it into gear and get something done – it’s taken them long enough, sheesh! I wouldn’t take any chances – do it now, later, and constantly.

    Reply
  8. Good news, Sunny! I can totally relate to your fear of the OPK-induced fuckery. I must say though, when they mess with me they never look that pretty. That one is a keeper. Good luck!

    Reply
  9. Yay! Have some sex tonight and you’re good to go! I also suggest taking your temp over the next few days, see if it rises!

    Reply
  10. girl that shit is positive. DO IT!!!!

    Reply
  11. Thanks for all the positive encouragement, ladies! I am proud to report that Hubs “brought it” this morning before work. Tomorrow I have a consult with an RE who may do an ultrasound, so I’ll see for sure what we’re dealing with here. I will definitely be taking my BBT over the next few days.

    Reply
  12. That’s awesome-I think this is fo’real ovulation happening! When my OPK’s fuck with me they’re positive all the time. Like for the past two weeks I’ve had positive OPK’s, but if yours was negative a few days ago and positive now it SOUNDS like a legit LH surge!! YAY!

    Reply
  13. Woohoo!!!!! Good luck!!!!!!!

    Reply
  14. Yay! That’s such good news! Definity looks positive to me!

    Reply
  15. yaaaay! congrats!
    usually once you get a + OPK it’s 12-36 hours.
    HOWEVER your first LH surge usually shows up in the afternoon – a + OPK in the morning means the surge started the previous day.
    So yeah – US to confirm is a good idea. 🙂

    PS – peeonastick.com. read it, love it, bookmark it.
    congrats again!

    Reply
    • I had no idea about the surge in the afternoon thing. Hmmm….Well–I certainly hope if anything happens, we’ve covered our bases. Hubs reminded me that we did it Sunday and Monday. Not Monday and Tuesday. So if Monday’s guys can hang out a bit, maybe they’ll have a fighting chance…and hopefully this morning’s guys are strong swimmers. This is assuming I’m ovulating at all, which I still don’t quite believe for some reason. It’s too easy…too predictable…

      Reply
  16. Yesss… Timing sounds good, chiquita! Yes indeedy do.

    And please, your alleged bed head looks like my “I’ve been working on it for 3 hours” head. I perpetually look like Bellatrix Lestrange.

    Reply
  17. Yes. Go have sex like bunnies!!!

    Reply
  18. Yay!! That sure looks positive to me (although I’ve never seen a real positive OPK in person…)! I’d bet you’ve got your bases covered with that morning’s fun. Hope the ultrasound shows a delated follicle!

    Reply
  19. Congrats!!!! Yay ovaries! Have a great weekend and fingers crossed!

    Reply

Leave a comment